AC Association Croquet

The League play-off was held at Hunstanton on 23rd September and featured Bury St Edmunds, Norwich and Watford competing to determine who would go through to represent the region in next year's Secretary's Shield. Some of the Watford team took the opportunity to take advantage of the location to stay for the weekend and were rewarded with some really glorious weather.

The teams were: 

Bury St Edmunds: 

Arthur Reed, John Smallbone, Bill Gillott, John Moore.
John Rolfe, Tony Harvey, John Robinette, Simon Conran
Terrey Sparks, Neil Chalmers, Dan Neale, Jack Mann.

See also:

AC League play-off results by year:
Previous AC league winners - summary

2006 League results:

The play-off is in effect two separate matches with each team playing the other two. Each match comprises one doubles and two singles games. The (Chalmers) system was introduced some years ago and has been remarkably successful in providing exciting finishes which go to the last games. At the end of the morning session, after playing the doubles, each team had managed one win and one loss leaving everything to play for in the afternoon singles. Again, this went down to the last two games between Watford's Arthur Reed and Norwich's Terrey Sparks with John Smallbone (Watford) against Tony Harvey (Bury) also vital. In the end both Watford players prevailed, making Watford the winners of both their matches 2-1 and being declared the tournament winners by organiser and manager Terrey Sparks.


The Chairman's Cup was presented to the winners by Federation Chairman David Kitson. We would like to thank the Hunstanton Club for the use of their magnificent facilities and exceptional lawns.