AC Association Croquet

The winning teams from the three area leagues will meet at Colchester on Saturday 1st October in the annual play-off to determine the right to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield for 2012.

  Area League 2011  winners 2011 Play-off winners
The Chairman's Cup
Click for enlargement
League tables: Watford
Chelmsford & Bentley
Chelmsford & Bentley

See also:

AC League play-off results by year:
Previous AC league winners - summary

The winning Chelmsford & Bentley team, L-R:
Jeff Farrington, Tony Murray,
Cheryl Stephenson, David Bateson

This year the winners of the three area leagues, Watford (Herts/Beds), Hunstanton (Norfolk/Cambs) and Chelmsford & Bentley (Suffolk/Essex) met on the 1st October at Colchester to determine who would go through to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield for 2012.

After the morning's play Cheltenham held the pole position winning both their doubles games against Watford and Hunstanton, with Watford managing one win against Hunstanton. However, events turned round in the afternoon's singles play when Hunstanton found their form, winning three of their four games, with Watford winning two games and Chelmsford chalking up the one win. This meant that for the first time using the current format there was a three-way tie. As all of the teams had beaten each other and no games had gone to time the Manager Terrey Sparks was unable to declare a winner at this stage so the tie went to a three-way peg shoot-out.

Under the shoot-out each player of each team had three balls to shoot at the peg from the east boundary to be taken alternately, highest handicaps first. Chelmsford proved to be the most accurate running out the winners 4/12, whilst Hunstanton and Watford could only manage 2/12.

Chelmsford and Bentley for the first time in their history lifted the Chairman's Cup and go forward to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield next year.

Report by Terrey Sparks
Click on images for enlargement
Chelmsford & Bentley Tony Murray (4), Jeff Farrington (7), Cheryl Stephenson (8), David Bateson (10)
Hunstanton Jeff Race(0), Ken Wheeler (4), Ian Thompson (4½), Tim Race (6)
Watford Ian Parkinson (1½), Arthur Reed (2), Geoff Johnson (9), Alan Clark (11)
Results (winners first):
Tony Murray receiving the Chairman's Cup
Jeff Farrington & David Bateson (CB)
Tony Murray & Cheryl Stephenson (CB)
Arthur Reed & Alan Clark (W)

vs. Ian Parkinson & Geoff Johnson (W)
vs. Ken Wheeler & Tim Race (H)
vs. Jeff Race & Ian Thompson (H)

Tony Murray (CB)
Jeff Race (H)
Ken Wheeler (H)
Ian Thompson (H)
Geoff Johnson (W)
Alan Clark (W)

vs. Arthur Reed (W)
vs. Jeff Farrington (CB)
vs. Ian Parkinson (W)
vs. David Bateson (CB)
vs. Tim Race (H)
vs. Cheryl Stephenson (CB)



Chelmsford & Bentley Watford Hunstanton Wins Peg
Chelmsford & Bentley   Doubles: +11
Singles: +9, -21
Doubles: +16
Singles: -4, -5
3 4
Watford Doubles: -11
Singles: -9, +21
  Doubles: +25
Singles: -23, +10
3 2
Hunstanton Doubles: -16
Singles: +4, +5
Doubles: -25
Singles: +23, -10
  3 2

Area League Play-Off for the Chairman's Cup


  1. The EACF Area league play-off for 2011 will be held at Colchester on Saturday 1st October at 10.00am. 
  2. The winning team from each Area, 1 (Beds & Herts.), 2 (Essex & Suffolk) and 3 (Norfolk & Cambs.), will meet to determine the overall EACF league championship.
  3. The format will be normal handicap games of 26pts, doubles in the morning and single games in the afternoon. Singles games will be double-banked and the duration of each game will be 3¼ hours.

    am: A1,A3 v B2,B4 B1,B3 v C2,C4 C1,C3 v A2,A4
    pm: A1 v C2
    A3 v C4
    B1 v A2
    B3 v A4
    C1 v B2
    C3 v B4

    A draw will take place in the morning to determine which teams will be designated A, B or C.

  4. All teams will comprise of four players (no handicap restriction).
  5. The Team Captain is to list his team in handicap order before the start of play and hand it to the manager. (If two or more players have the same handicap they can be listed per that teams preference.)
  6. The overall winner will be the team that has won the most games. However,
    1. If no winner can be determined then the who beat whom rule will apply. However,
    2. If still no winner can be determined then the team with the fewest wins on time will be the winner.
    3. If the contest is still undecided, then a peg shoot-out will be arranged by the Manager to determine the winner.
  7. The overall winner of the play-off will be presented with the 'Chairmans Cup' to be held for one year and will go forward to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield for the next year.

Terrey Sparks