Club Champions Tournament
by year:

AC Association Croquet


Wrest Park - Sunday 25 July

Manager: Terrey Sparks

The 2021 (AC) Club Champions tournament proved as popular an event as ever, attracting a full entry in all three categories, which this year was staged again at the Wrest Park club. Despite an adverse weather report the day turned out to be mainly fine and dry and the excellent conditions of the lawns led to some very good play.

'A' Level

Attracting four entries, play was of a high standard in which 3 games were concluded by triple peels. However, last year's winner Nick Mounfield had lost none of his form and ran out winner of the group, winning all three of his games quite convincingly.

'B' Level

6 entries took part in this block which was hard fought right to the end. There was the possibility of 3 players ending up on 2 wins apiece. However, this would only occur if David Frost could beat Heather Bennett in their last game. This was not to be as the last year's holder held her nerve, running out a three-way winner and therefore holding on to the trophy.


Unusually for a handicap competition, this year contained a minus player Bryan Harral playing off -½. Despite this Bryan did not have an easy run. He won all his games and coped well with the handicap gap, although just winning all his games with scores very close.

Many thanks go to the Wrest Park club for making their lawns available to the Federation, and thanks to George Collin the groundsman and his helpers for setting thing up and looking after us for the weekend.


Click on images for an enlargement
Report by Terrey Sparks
Level Advanced'A' Block
Player Club H'cap NM DM JW GB Wins Rank
Nick Mounfield Letchworth -2   +26tp +10 +25 3 1
David Marsh Wrest Park -1 -26tp   +15 +26tp 2 2
Jack Wicks Colchester -1½ -17 -15   +23tp 1 3
Gary Bennett Watford 1 -25 -26tp -23tp   0 4
Level Advanced'B' Block
Player Club H'cap HB AR DN TS DF JT Wins Rank
Heather Bennett Letchworth 2   +9 +17   +17   3 1
Arthur Reed Watford 3 -9     +1   +17 2  
Dan Neale Newport 3 -17     +14 +5   2  
Terrey Sparks Pinchbeck 3   -1 -14     +23 1  
David Frost Enfield 4 -17   -5     +12 1  
Jonathan Toye Downham Market 4   -17   -23 -12   0  
Handicap (18-point games)'C' Block
Player Club H'cap BH AH JN SC MB BS Wins Rank
Bryan Harral Wrest Park   +7   +7   +3 3 1
Adam Huby Watford 8 -7   +6   +5   2 2
John Noble Letchworth 5   -6   +7 +14   2 3
Simon Conran Bury St. Edmunds 6 -7   -7     +10 1  
Michael Broadway Enfield 11   -5 -14     +1 1  
Bryan Saddington Downham Market 5 -3     -10 -1   0  

All games: 2½ hours time limit.
Tie breaking: who beat whom, or a shoot-out at Manager's discretion.

See also:

AC Club Champions Tournament - past winners
GC Club Champions Tournament