AC Association Croquet

The play-off for the East Anglian Association Croquet League Championship took place at Wrest Park on Saturday 22nd September. As usual it as contested between the 3 winners of the Beds & Herts League, the Essex & Suffolk League and the Northern League. Details of the event are shown below.

  Area League 2007 winners 2007 Play-off winners
League tables: Watford
Colchester South

See also:

AC League play-off results by year:
Previous AC league winners - summary

Watford become the EACF League Champions for 2007, their third consecutive year.

Teams: Watford Ian Parkinson, Arthur Reed, Mark Homan, Adam Huby.
Colchester South Jonathan Hills, David Haslam, Ron Harris, George Jeffery.
Norwich Terrey Sparks, Feargal Smith, Neil Chalmers, Dan Neale


Ian Parkinson (2) & Mark Homan (4½) vs. Terrey Sparks (2½) & Neil Chalmers (6)
Arthur Reed (2½) & Adam Huby (12) vs. David Haslam (7) & George Jeffery (10)
Jonathan Hills (0) & Ron Harris (8) vs. Feargal Smith (4) & Dan Neale (7)


Ian Parkinson (2) vs. Jonathan Hills (0)
Arthur Reed (2½) vs. Feargal Smith (4)
Mark Homan (4½) vs. Ron Harris (8)
Adam Huby (12) vs. Dan Neale (7)
David Haslam (7) vs. Terrey Sparks (2½)
George Jeffery (10) vs. Neil Chalmers (6)




Overall game scores: Watford 5-1
Colchester South 3-3
Norwich 1-5


Three doubles matches were played in the morning and the Watford first pair of Ian Parkinson and Mark Homan got off to a good start against Terrey Sparks and Neil Chalmers when Mark went around to rover on the seventh turn. Shortly afterwards Ian progressed to penultimate but they stayed for a long time at this score whilst the Norwich pair managed to get a start. However, this was only a postponement of Watford's win. Both the other doubles matches became battles of attrition both going to time, but at the lunch interval Watford had notched up two wins and Colchester South one.

The six singles matches proceeded at a better pace, all finishing within time. The most interesting of these was between Jonathan Hills of Colchester playing off scratch and Ian Parkinson who was receiving two bisques. Ian managed to get the first break and went to peg arguing that this gave him the best chance. After some in and out play during which Ian used one of his bisques Jonathan got a break going and duly pegged out Ian's forward ball. To the surprise of some spectators Jonathan decided to peg out his own with both the other balls for hoop 3 and one bisque standing. The resulting two ball game started to go Ian's way when he used his remaining bisque and he eventually ran out the winner. Whether the result might have been different if Jonathan had decided to play a three ball game we shall never know but it is a fine judgement as to whether depriving yourself of the third ball is worth it in order to devalue the standing bisque.

It soon became clear that the result rested between Watford and Colchester South but the Watford win described above eventually sealed Watford's victory. Norwich did not have the best of days but their least experienced player, Dan Neale, recorded a Norwich win in the last match to finish, thus avoiding a duck for the team. Watford ran out comfortable winners in the end winning five games to Colchester's three. EACF Secretary Terrey Sparks warmly thanked Wrest Park for their hospitality and presented the Chairman's Cup to Watford's captain Arthur Reed.

Click on an image to see an enlargement.

EACF_Wrest_Park_2007_02.jpg (105113 bytes)
Arthur Reed (left) receiving the EACF League Champions
trophy from the EACF Secretary Terrey Sparks

EACF_Wrest_Park_2007_01.jpg (99285 bytes)
The Watford winners with the Beds & Herts League
shield and the EACF League Champions trophy.
Left to right: Adam Huby, Arthur Reed,
Mark Homan, Ian Parkinson

Report by Arthur Reed


Area League Play-Off for the Chairman's Cup


  1. The EACF Area league play-off will for 2007 be held at the Wrest Park Croquet Club on Saturday 22nd September at 10.00am. 
  2. The winning team from each Area, A. (Beds & Herts.), B. (Essex & Suffolk) and C. (Norfolk & Cambs.), will meet to determine the overall EACF league championship.
  3. The format will be normal handicap games of 26pts, doubles in the morning and single games in the afternoon. Singles games will be double-banked and the duration of each game will be 3¼ hours.

    am: A1,A3 v B1,B3 B2,B4 v C1,C3 A2,A4 v C2,C4
    am: A3 v C3
    A4 v B4
    B1 v C2
    B3 v C4
    C1 v A1
    B2 v A2
  4. All teams will comprise of four players (no handicap restriction).
  5. The Team Captain is to list his team in handicap order before the start of play and hand it to the manager. (If two or more players have the same handicap they can be listed per that teams preference.)
  6. The overall winner will be the team that has won the most games. However,
    1. If no winner can be determined then the who beat whom rule will apply. However,
    2. If still no winner can be determined then the team with the fewest wins on time will be the winner.
    3. If the contest is still undecided, then a peg shoot-out will be arranged by the Manager to determine the winner.
  7. The overall winner of the play-off will be presented with 'The Chairmans Cup' to be held for one year and will go forward to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield for 2008.

Terrey Sparks