AC Association Croquet

The winning teams from the three area leagues met at Colchester  on Saturday 27th September in the annual play-off to determine the right to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield for 2009. Beds/Herts were represented by Wrest Park, Essex/Suffolk by Colchester (South) and Norfolk/Cambs by Hunstanton.

Area League 2008 winners 2008 Play-off winners
The Chairman's Cup

Click for enlargement

League tables: Wrest Park
Colchester South
Colchester South

See also:

AC League play-off results by year:
Previous AC league winners - summary

During the morning doubles play Colchester got off to a good start by winning both their games. Wrest Park managed one win leaving Hunstanton with a clean sheet. However, during the afternoon singles Wrest Park picked up 3 wins to Colchester's 2, with Hunstanton's 1, meaning at the end of play both Wrest Park and Colchester were tying on 4 wins each. However, as Colchester had a 2-1 win advantage over Wrest Park they were declared the winners on the who beat whom rule.

Terrey Sparks

Wrest Park Bryan Harral, Tim Brewer, Geoff Strutt, David Morris
Colchester South Colin Hemming, David Haslam, George Jeffery, Keith Saunders
Hunstanton Ian Storey, Terrey Sparks, Cathy Storey, Bryan Saddington


Results (winners first):
Colin Hemming & George Jeffery vs. Bryan Harral & Geoff Strutt
David Haslam & Keith Saunders vs. Ian Storey & Cathy Storey
Tim Brewer & David Morris vs. Terrey Sparks & Bryan Saddington


Geoff Strutt vs. Cathy Storey
Terrey Sparks vs. Colin Hemming
Bryan Harral vs. Ian Storey
Keith Saunders vs. David Morris
George Jeffrey vs. Bryan Saddington
Tim Brewer vs. David Haslam





Colchester South Wrest Park Hunstanton Wins  
Colchester South   Doubles: +4T
Singles: +10T, -4
Doubles: +6T
Singles: -6, +10
4 1st
Wrest Park Doubles: -4T
Singles: -10T, +4
  Doubles: +19
Singles: +1, +14
4 2nd
Hunstanton Doubles: -6T
Singles: +6, -10
Doubles: -19
Singles: -1, -14
  1 3rd

Click on image for an enlargement

The winning team from Colchester South.

Left to right:
George Jeffery, Colin Hemming,
David Haslam, Keith Saunders


Area League Play-Off for the Chairman's Cup


  1. The EACF Area league play-off will for 2008 be held at the Colchester Croquet Club on Saturday 27th September at 10.00am. 
  2. The winning team from each Area, A. (Beds & Herts.), B. (Essex & Suffolk) and C. (Norfolk & Cambs.), will meet to determine the overall EACF league championship.
  3. The format will be normal handicap games of 26pts, doubles in the morning and single games in the afternoon. Singles games will be double-banked and the duration of each game will be 3ΒΌ hours.

    am: A1,A3 v B1,B3 B2,B4 v C1,C3 A2,A4 v C2,C4
    am: A3 v C3
    A4 v B4
    B1 v C2
    B3 v C4
    C1 v A1
    B2 v A2
  4. All teams will comprise of four players (no handicap restriction).
  5. The Team Captain is to list his team in handicap order before the start of play and hand it to the manager. (If two or more players have the same handicap they can be listed per that teams preference.)
  6. The overall winner will be the team that has won the most games. However,
    1. If no winner can be determined then the who beat whom rule will apply. However,
    2. If still no winner can be determined then the team with the fewest wins on time will be the winner.
    3. If the contest is still undecided, then a peg shoot-out will be arranged by the Manager to determine the winner.
  7. The overall winner of the play-off will be presented with 'The Chairmans Cup' to be held for one year and will go forward to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield for 2009.

Terrey Sparks