AC Association Croquet

Newport - Saturday 3rd October

Manager: Terrey Sparks

  Area League 2015 winners 2015 Play-off winners
The Chairman's Cup
Click to enlarge
League tables: Enfield
(on tie-breaker)

See also:

AC League play-off results by year:
Previous AC league winners - summary

AC doubles handicap calculation (PDF 19 kb)

The Hunstanton winners
Click on images for an enlargement

Hunstanton win the AC Handicap League Play-Off

In a very close match played at the Newport Club on Saturday 3rd October, Hunstanton ran out the overall winners in a three way tie between Newport, Enfield and Hunstanton, reports manager on the day Terrey Sparks.

Hunstanton made a slow start in the morning in the doubles round, failing to record a win, whilst Enfield made a strong start with 2 wins followed by Newport on 1. However, during the afternoon Enfield's fortunes began to fade as Hunstanton started to put on the pressure by making better progress, winning 3 of their remaining 4 games of singles. At the same time Newport also recovered by winning 2 of their remaining games, whilst Enfield limped in with only 1 win.

This meant that the day's play finished on a 3 way tie for each team, giving the Manager a problem to solve. Turning to the league regulations, the first option of 'who beat whom' could not be applied as each team had beaten each other. So the next option as the team with the fewest wins in time was applied. In this case Hunstanton were on nil, Enfield on 1 and Newport on 2. So Hunstanton were declared the winners.

Hunstanton: Bryan Saddington, Charles Ostler, David Haslam & Peter Brown
Enfield: Ken Pickett, Brian Havill, Tony Elliot & David Frost
Newport: Bernard Yallop, Dennis Saville, Fran Lambert & Roy Darling
Report by Terrey Sparks

Area League Play-Off for the Chairman's Cup


  1. The winning team from each Area will meet to determine the overall EACF league championship.
  2. The format will be normal handicap games of 26pts, doubles in the morning and single games in the afternoon. Singles games will be double-banked and the duration of each game will be 3ΒΌ hours.

    am: A1,A3 v B2,B4 B1,B3 v C2,C4 C1,C3 v A2,A4
    pm: A1 v C2
    A3 v C4
    B1 v A2
    B3 v A4
    C1 v B2
    C3 v B4

    A draw will take place in the morning to determine which teams will be designated A, B or C.

  3. All teams will comprise four players (no handicap restriction).
  4. The Team Captain is to list his team in handicap order before the start of play and hand it to the manager. (If two or more players have the same handicap they can be listed per that teams preference.)
  5. The overall winner will be the team that has won the most games. However,
    1. If no winner can be determined then the who beat whom rule will apply. However,
    2. If still no winner can be determined then the team with the fewest wins on time will be the winner.
    3. If the contest is still undecided, then a peg shoot-out will be arranged by the Manager to determine the winner.
  6. The overall winner of the play-off will be presented with The Chairman's Cup to be held for one year and will go forward to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield for the next year.

Terrey Sparks