AC Association Croquet

Peterborough - Saturday 14th September

Manager: Terrey Sparks


Results vs.: [Beds & Herts winner] [Essex & Suffolk winner] [Northern winner] GAME
[Beds & Herts winner]   [14 Sep] [14 Sep] 0  
[Essex & Suffolk winner] [14 Sep]   [14 Sep] 0  
[Northern winner] [14 Sep] [14 Sep]   0  

The Chairman's Cup
Click to enlarge

AC League play-off results by year:

See also:

Previous AC league winners - all years

Report to be provided after the final

Area League Play-Off for the Chairman's Cup


  1. The winning team from each Area will meet to determine the overall EACF AC leagues championship.
  2. The format will be normal 26pt AC games played to handicap rules, with doubles in the morning and singles in the afternoon. Singles games will be double-banked and the duration of each game will be 3ΒΌ hours, with the additional rule that either pair of a Doubles game may choose to play Alternate Stroke Doubles independently of their opponent's choice.

    am: A1,A3 v B2,B4 B1,B3 v C2,C4 C1,C3 v A2,A4
    pm: A1 v C2
    A3 v C4
    B1 v A2
    B3 v A4
    C1 v B2
    C3 v B4

    A draw will take place in the morning to determine which teams will be designated A, B or C.

  3. Teams will comprise four players with no handicap restrictions.
  4. The Team Captain is to list his team in handicap order before the start of play and hand it to the manager. If two or more players have the same handicap those players can be listed in any order.
  5. The winner will be the team winning the most games.
  6. If the winner is still undecided, then a further contest will take place in which all team members take part using the following two-ball tie-break to determine the winner.
    • The order of play will be decided between teams by lot, with each team playing one turn.
    • The team in play places its striker's ball on the Corner IV yard-line spot, and a second ball anywhere on the court in a position of their choosing. All other balls are removed from the court.
    • With each member of the team in play rotating in handicap order to play one stroke, that team will then make as many hoops as possible in one turn, starting with hoop 4 and proceeding in accordance with normal AC rules for running hoops 4, 5, 6, 1-back etc. in order. No bisques may be taken.
    • After this procedure, if one team has scored more hoops than the other two then they are the winners. Otherwise, any team scoring fewer hoops than the others drops out and the whole procedure is repeated until there is a winner.
  7. The overall winner of the play-off will be presented with the Chairman's Cup to be held for one year, and will go forward to represent the Eastern Region in the Secretary's Shield for the next year.

Terrey Sparks